Broadening my comfort zone

Believe me or not, one and a half month ago, when I had to present my business activity in front of a small, 7-people group of participants of a training programme for Warsaw creatives “Be Creative in Warsaw”, my voice was trembling, hands shaking, and the presentation wasn’t really clear and convincing. However, I got a feedback that a real passion can be heard from my voice and the rest will come with practice. The truth is that since the start of my career of surface pattern designer, I had been mainly connecting with people online which is quite comfortable for me. But I knew that it was not sufficient especially that I had big plans to come in a very close future: live workshops and exhibiting during an international textile fair, that are now behind me.

This business training programme came just in perfect time: for a five intensive days, in small groups, the owners of small creative businesses were, among others, learning to communicate and marketing our stories and offers in a clear way. After the training’s ending, we had a chance to make a 5-minutes presentation in front of an expert comitee. It was a great stress. But also a chance to push a comfort zone a little bit. I prepared as well as I could and gave my speech – I was really happy and proud how confidently I did it. Nothing more happened – I didn’t got any prize (it was actually a kind of a competition). But this little speech gave me a lot of strenght. That was really useful a week later.

A week later I was teaching live workshops on surface pattern design during the Łódź Design Festival, which is an important event in the polish design world. I felt really honored and excited to be invited, but also a little bit (very) nervous. Again, I prepared the class with all my heart and precision. The workshops room turned out to be a wonderful, cozy place where I was feeling really well. And the group of participants was also great. This teaching challenge, despite the time surprise (3 hours passed just too quickly!), came to a happy ending and the participants were very satisfied (according to the anonymous survey).

Finally, time came to prepare to the International Textile Fair in Warsaw. Together with my fellow designer Ewa Brzozowska, we decided to share the booth and and to create a common brand (Polka Dots Art Collective) to offer a complimentary styles to the potential buyers. Again, this event was a big challenge (and a big investment). But this time we were two and we could share the efforts and  competences to make something great. And we did! After long weeks of preparation our booth was really beautiful and attracted a lot of attention, during 3 days we carried on dozens of business conversations and made plenty of wonderful contacts. I’m sure this will bring great collaboration in the next following months.

Why I write all that? Well, I would like to convince you that it’s really worth broadening your comfort zone. Just a little every time. Good luck!

polkadots_fasttextile

Możecie mi wierzyć lub nie, ale kiedy półtora miesiąca temu miałam przedstawić siebie i swoją działalność przed 7-osobową grupą uczestników programu “Be Creative in Warsaw” trząsł mi się głos i ręce, a wypowiedź nie była zbyt klarowna. Otrzymałam wtedy jednak feedback, że w moim głosie słychać pasję, a reszta przyjdzie z praktyką. Cóż, prawda jest taka, że odkąd zaczęłam swoją karierę projektantki wzorów, moja działalność odbywała się głównie online. Wiedziałam jednak, że w pewnym momencie to nie wystarczy, tym bardziej że nadchodziły duże wyzwania w najbliższej przyszłości: prowadzenie warsztatów na żywo oraz debiut w roli wystawcy na międzynarodowych targach tekstylnych.

Do programu “Be Creative in Warsaw” trafiłam więc w idealnym czasie: przez pięć dni, w małych grupach złożonych z właścicieli małych biznesów kreatywnych, ćwiczyliśmy m.in. sposoby komunikowania i reklamowania naszej oferty w przejrzysty sposób. Po zakonczeniu części szkoleniowej, mieliśmy okazję przedstawić nasze biznesy podczas 5-minutowej prezentacji przed komisją ekspertów. Jak się można domyślić, był to dla mnie ogromny stres. Ale również szansa, by nieco wyjść poza strefę komfortu. Przygotowałam moją prezentację najlepiej jak umiałam i wygłosiłam swój speech – byłam naprawdę dumna i szczęśliwa, że udało mi się zabrzmieć pewnie i profesjonalnie. Choć nic nie wygrałam, ten “wyczyn” dał mi dużo pewności siebie, która miała się przydać już tydzien później.

Tydzien później prowadziłam bowiem warsztaty na żywo z zakresu projektowania wzorów w ramach Łódz Design Festival. Czułam się naprawdę zaszczycona i podeskcytowana zaproszeniem, ale jednocześnie trochę (bardzo) zestresowana. W przygotowanie warsztatów włożyłam całe serce, mnóstwo energii i czasu. Było warto: sala była piękna i przytulna, uczestnicy super zdolni i entuzjastycznie nastawieni, no i co najważniejsze, wyszli bardzo zadowoleni! (o ile wierzyć anonimowym ankietom). 3 godziny minęły błyskawicznie.

Wreszcie przyszedł czas przygotowan do Międzynarodowych Targów Tekstylnych Fast Textile w Warszawie. Razem z Ewą Brzozowską postanowiłyśmy dzielić stoisko i wystąpić pod wspólną marką (Polka Dots Art Collective), tak żeby zaoferować potencjalnym klientom szerszy zakres stylistyczny. To wydarzenie było sporym wyzwaniem: logistycznym, emocjonalnym i finansowym (więcej o przygotowaniach możecie przeczytać na blogu Ewy). Ale byłyśmy dwie i dzieląc się obowiązkami i kompetencjami mogłyśmy zrobić coś naprawdę fajnego. I udało się! Po długich tygodniach dyskusji i przygotowan nasze stoisko wyglądało świetnie i budziło bardzo duże zainteresowanie: w ciągu 3 dni przeprowadziłyśmy dziesiątki biznesowych rozmów i nawiązałyśmy mnóstwo fantastycznych kontaktów. Jestem pewna, że zaowocują one świetnymi projektami w nadchodzących miesiącach.

Czemu opisuję tą całą historię? Cóż, po prostu chciałam Was przekonać, że naprawdę warto rozszerzać swoją strefę komfortu. Krok po kroku. Powodzenia!

Leave a Reply

