Back to the childhood: my influence map

Today I would like to invite you to a little journey to the past. Recently, I was very inspired by Christine Fleming’s idea to create a visual map of elements, that had been stimulating my imagination since the early age. As a psychologist by education, I just love all kind of analysis of how the past experiences influence who we are now and what choices we make. The exercise proposed by Christine was a pure fun: when I was digging the internet for the screens of my favourite movies, tv series and books, I was laughting at myself and I’ve been really surprised, to what extent they have influenced my later choices and my present creative style. This is how my “influence map” looks like:
Dzisiaj chciałam was zaprosić w małą podróż do przyszłości. Ostatnio bardzo zainspirował mnie pomysł Christine Fleming stworzenia wizualnej mapy elementów, które od najmłodszych lat pobudzały moją wyobraźnię. Jako psycholog z wykształcenia, uwielbiam wszelkiego rodzaju analizy tego, jak przeszłe doświadczenia wpływają na to, kim jesteśmy teraz i jakich dokonujemy wyborów. Ćwiczenie zaproponowane przez Christine okazało się mega zabawne – przekopując się przez screeny z moich ukochanych filmów z lat 80 i 90, zdjęcia zespołów i okładek ukochanych książek, śmiałam się do siebie, a jednocześnie byłam (i jestem) zaskoczona, jak bardzo wpłynęły na moje późniejsze inspiracje i dzisiejszy styl. Tak wygląda moja mapa:
againfluence

While creating the map I’ve discovered, that nature had been truly inspiring me since the early childhood. The action in the majority of my beloved books and movies was taking place in the wild, green lands, where plants, animals, the indigenous people and their mysteries were playing a major role. The Last of the Mohicans, Anne of Green Gables, Indiana Jones and the series of books by A.Szklarski about young traveller named Tomek were taking place in the wide open air. As a little girl, I also loved beautiful stories where big, good (and often furry!) beasts were making friends with humans: I was dreaming to meet Aslan, the lion from the Chronicles of Narnia and to fly on the back of the giant dragon-dog from The Never Ending Story. I was always crying while watching E.T. (several times), and the lecture of Tolkien’s Hobbit became a starting point to my perennial fascination with fantasy books. Last but not least, for half the primary school I was listening to the Kelly Family, and despite the fact that for my friends it was really lame, I was collecting posters and articles about members of this big family wearing intriguing clothes and ethnic jewellery, travelling by boat and singing songs accompanied by the traditional instruments.
My longing for greenery, exotic lands and adventures is still alive in my heart. I love to travel, my biggest source of inspiration is nature, and I always try to weave some textures and add a romantic seed into my designs. It hasn’t started yesterday :)
And you? How your childhood inspirations has influenced your present choices and tastes. Please, share!

P.S. If you liked this little analysis, take a look into the Ewa’s blog – she’s just a little younger than me but her influences are completely different! It’s funny to compare!

aga-bieszczady
Już szykując zestawienie zdałam sobie sprawę, że stwierdzenie, że natura pobudzała moją wyobraźnię od najmłodszych lat nie jest pustym frazesem. Większość moich ukochanych książek i filmów działa się w dzikich, zielonych krainach, w których rośliny, zwierzęta oraz egzotyczne tubylcze ludy i ich tajemnice odgrywały istotną rolę: “Ostatni Mohikanin”, “Ania z Zielonego Wzgórza”, “Indiana Jones” i cała seria książek Alfreda Szklarskiego o przygodach Tomka Wilmowskiego rozgrywała się w pięknych plenerach. W dzieciństwie kochałam też niezwykłe historie, w których pojawiały się dobre i mądre istoty (zwykle futrzane ;): lew Aslan z “Opowieści z Narni” był głównym bohaterem moich snów i, pewnie jak każde dziecko mojego pokolenia, marzyłam o tym, żeby móc latać na wielkim smoku-psie z “Niekończącej się opowieści”. Na filmie “E.T.” zawsze płakałam (już nie wiem, czy ze smutku czy wzruszenia), a od książki “Hobbit” Tolkiena zaczęła się moja wieloletnia fascynacja książkami fantasy. Last but not least, połowę podstawówki szalałam na punkcie Kelly Family, i choć w mojej klasie to był szczyt obciachu, zbierałam plakaty i artykuły o tej muzykalnej rodzinie, której członkowie ubierali się w fantazyjne stroje i etniczne ozdoby, pływali łodzią i śpiewali chwytliwe kawałki przy akompaniamencie tradycyjnych instrumentów.
Tęsknota za dziką przyrodą, niecodziennymi spotkaniami i przygodami w odległych krainach nadal pozostają w moim sercu – dziś kocham podróżować, inspirację czerpię z natury, a do swoich projektów staram się wplatać faktury, naturalne barwy i szczyptę romantyzmu. Nie wzięło się to znikąd :)
A wy? Jak Wasze dzieciństwo wpłynęło na Wasze dzisiejsze wybory i gusta? Podzielcie się!
p.s. Jeśli zainteresowała Was ta mini analiza, zajrzyjcie też na bloga Ewy – zobaczycie, jak bardzo jej dziecięce fascynacje wpłynęły na słodki styl. Fajne porównanie!

Leave a Reply

